Project Ideas/Help

Talk about anything in here.

Project Ideas/Help

Postby GeneD » Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:48 am

I have this project for school. I’m studying biochemistry and we have to come up with an idea for a research project (spanning 2-3 years) solving a problem or developing a novel product. It has to be biochemistry related (anything with genes or bacteria will probably cover it) and it has to be completely original. I am pretty badly stuck on trying to think of something, so I thought I’d post and see if anyone out there might be able to spark off some ideas. You don’t really have to know much/anything about biochem, you might just post something that triggers an idea.

I’ll give some examples: genetic modification; e.g. making blue roses, an instant test to detect bacterial contamination in hospitals, bacteria that secretes a protein that might be missing in a disease.

Please help me out and post any problem you might think of that may be solved with a scientific approach. Any interesting links are also welcome.
I don't know what broke to make you like this, but I must be broken too if I'm standing here praising your destructiveness. -Rock (Black Lagoon)

As I had encountered kindness, I wanted to be kind myself. -Takashi Natsume (Natsume's Book of Friends)

MAL
Twitter
MOES: Promoting sane sigs.
GeneD

Postby Dante » Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:17 pm

You're twenty-two... Hence, this is for a university and not a school. I have advice... but it is not my own and the author of it is equally as contreversial within science. And I don't worry about spelling or grammarz whilst on teh netz.

-".6 Don't choose your initial thesis objective" -James D. Watson, Avoid Boring (Other) People
(I will note that I believe his statements concerning race from the way I heard them sound like one the stupidist statements I've ever heard... but the advice he gave above seemed to be particularly true and so I think it should be passed on)