"Your life soley on this"

Talk about anything in here.

"Your life soley on this"

Postby xblack_x_rosesx » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:08 pm

SO
Here is my... almost admittance of defeat.

I have no idea what I'm getting into.
I'm applying for University on thursday, with a really great chance of getting in (I'm an honours student, well composed active member of the community blah blah blah).
My mother asked me today "So, you're going for your bachelor of arts, right?"
and I go "Yes."
and she goes "With a major in psychology?"
and I go "Probably"
And she goes "... so, once you graduate you know you'll probably be working a dead end job, right?"
And I go "... I know."
And she goes "So. We need a better plan then, don't we? I'm not paying $70,000 for your education if you're going to be nobody."

It's really got me thinking.
I'm going for my bachelor of arts, for certain, with either a major in:

a) Philosophy and Religion
b) Psychology
c) Computing Science (This is really a last resort kind of option)

The thing is, the first two are the things I really see myself being happy studying, and pursuing- my career choices. But, I don't see myself going to school for 8 years to get my PhD, so going into psych is pointless unless I plan on pursuing it fully.
Philosophy and religion I can't really do, well, ANYTHING with. I'd love to be a theological professor, or scholar of some sort, but the chances of that happening are extremely unlikely.

So, this is me really really asking for help.

What jobs can I get with a) and b) , realistically. I know so many people who have a bachelor of arts with a major in psychology, and they work at retail stores or as secretaries somewhere.
I have no idea what I could do afterward, after I'm out of school. There are really no solid job oppertunities waiting for me on the day I graduate- nothing will be open that 400,000 other students won't be grabbing for- and I don't think I'll be in that 2% that'll get lucky.